Skip to main content
Toggle Menu of ADA WebSites
ADA Websites
Partnerships and Commissions
Toggle Search Area
Toggle Menu
e-mail Print Share

EBD Awards for 2017

Important Dates
Application deadline: August 30, 2017
Decision made: September 15, 2017
Award presented: October 19, 2017, at ADA 2017 in Atlanta

Click here to nominate someone or apply today!

The American Dental Association (ADA) and the American Association for Dental Research (AADR) have established two faculty awards and one practice award for evidence-based dentistry (EBD). The goal of these awards is to acknowledge currently practicing dental educators and clinicians who have made significant contributions to implement and advance EBD. Dental school faculty who are members of the ADA or AADR and practitioners who are members of the ADA are eligible to apply.

Award recipients must demonstrate leadership in implementing EBD in research, practice, or education and a contribution to the scientific knowledge base of EBD. Those who meet these criteria are encouraged to apply for the three awards listed below.

Accomplished faculty award

Eligibility criteria: 

  • Membership in the ADA or AADR
  • Thirty years or more as a full-time or part-time faculty member at an accredited U.S. dental school
  • Have a leadership role in bringing a new EBD research or educational program to their dental school, or have a leadership role in developing EBD resources for the profession

Mid-career faculty award

Eligibility criteria: 

  • Membership in the ADA or AADR
  • Between 10 and 30 years as a full-time or part-time faculty member at an accredited U.S. dental school
  • Outstanding and promising contributions to the practice and profession: Completion of an EBD project within the past two years, or authorship on an EBD-related project (such as an evidence summary, a systematic review, an evidence-based guideline, or a dissemination and implementation research study) that is accepted by a peer-reviewed publication

Practitioner award 

Eligibility criteria:

  • Membership in the ADA
  • Completion of an EBD project within the past two years, or demonstrated leadership in implementing EBD to improve patient care in private practice or a public health setting and encouraging colleagues to use research findings in practice

    To nominate someone or apply online:

    • In 250 words or less, describe how the nominee meets the eligibility criteria
      • Relevant contributions to the profession (focusing on the criteria for the specific award)
      • The depth, breadth, and diversity of the professional accomplishments relevant to the particular award being sought
      • Any additional information about the applicant for the awards committee to consider.
      • Letter of support from other colleagues, dental school dean, department head, or other leader in the profession

    The awards committee is composed of members of the ADA’s Council on Scientific Affairs EBD Subcommittee, a representative from AADR, and a non-voting participant from Colgate. The awards committee will select the winners, who will be notified by September 15. The winners will receive a commemorative plaque, a $1,000 honorarium, and U.S. domestic airfare and a one-night hotel stay to receive his or her award at the ADA Clinical Evaluators (ACE) Panel Reception in Atlanta on Thursday, October 19, at ADA 2017. This is a one-time award; winners are ineligible to apply again.

    Below are the winners of the 2016 EBD awards.

    Accomplished faculty award

    John Rugh, Ph.D., professor and director of the evidence-based practice program at the University of Texas Health Science Center Dental School in San Antonio.

    Mid-career faculty award

    Ahmad Abdelkarim, D.M.D., Ph.D., Ed.D., associate professor and chair of the department of orthodontics at the University of Mississippi School of Dentistry.

    Collaborative award

    Teresa Marshall, Ph.D., professor of preventive and community dentistry and director of experiential learning at the University of Iowa's College of Dentistry.

    Cheryl Straub-Morarend, D.D.S., clinical associate professor in the department of family dentistry at the University of Iowa’s College of Dentistry.

    The 2016 awards were presented on October 19, 2016, at a reception for the ADA's EBD Champions Conference at the Hyatt Regency Denver at the Colorado Convention Center. Pictured below, from left to right, are the 2016 winners at the awards reception: Dr. Rugh, Dr. Straub-Morarend, Dr. Marshall, and Dr. Abdelkarim.

    The ADA and AADR established the awards to acknowledge dental school faculty and practitioners who have made significant contributions to implementing and advancing EBD.

    Learn more about the EBD Champions Conference

    The evidence-based dentistry faculty and practice awards are generously supported by

    For more information or questions, please contact Tyharrie Woods at the ADA's Center for Evidence-Based Dentistry at 312.440.2507 or