Skip to main content
Toggle Menu of ADA WebSites
ADA Websites
Partnerships and Commissions
Toggle Search Area
Toggle Menu
e-mail Print Share

Evidence-Based Dentistry Faculty & Practice Awards

The American Dental Association (ADA) and the American Association for Dental Research (AADR) are pleased to announce the winners of the 2017 Evidence-Based Dentistry Faculty & Practice Awards:

  • Accomplished Faculty Award winner Dr. Jane Forrest of the Herman Ostrow School of Dentistry at the University of Southern California
  • Mid-Career Faculty Award winner Dr. Jaana Gold of the University of Florida College of Dentistry
  • Practice Award winner Dr. Ben Balevi of the private practice Evidental in Vancouver, British Columbia

The winners will receive a commemorative plaque, a $1,000 honorarium, and U.S. domestic airfare and a one-night hotel stay to receive their award in Atlanta at ADA 2017. The awards will be presented Thursday, October 19, from 5 to 6:30 PM as part of a reception for the ADA Clinical Evaluators (ACE) Panel. The reception will be held at the Omni Atlanta Hotel at CNN Center, CNN North Tower, Level M2, International Ballroom F.

  • Evidence-Based Dentistry Accomplished Faculty Award
  • Evidence-Based Dentistry Mid-Career Faculty Award
  • Evidence-Based Dentistry Practice Award

Additional past recipients

  • 2016: Combined EBD Faculty Award presented to Drs. Teresa Marshall and Cheryl Straub-Morarend, University of Iowa College of Dentistry
  • 2014: Inaugural Evidence-Based Dentistry Award presented to Dr. Robert Weyant, University of Pittsburgh School of Dental Medicine

Award recipients are selected by a committee composed of members of the ADA’s Council on Scientific Affairs Evidence-Based Dentistry Subcommittee, AADR members, and a non-voting participant from Colgate. This is a one-time award; winners are ineligible to apply again. 

The ADA and AADR established the Evidence-Based Dentistry Faculty & Practice Awards to acknowledge currently practicing dental educators and clinicians who have made significant contributions to implement and advance evidence-based dentistry in research, practice, or education. Recipients must also have contributed to the scientific knowledge base of evidence-based dentistry.

The Evidence-Based Dentistry Faculty & Practice Awards are generously supported by

For more information, please contact Tyharrie Woods at the ADA's Center for Evidence-Based Dentistry at 312.440.2507 or